Wandsworth Digital has produced a resource containing a list of where to get support, help, training, funding etc. for anything digital.

 

Wandsworth Digital

Resources & Information – various stuff!

Last updated: 12th April 2021

 

This is a list of where to get support, help, training, funding etc. for anything digital.

Let us know if we should be adding/editing this list. And… if in doubt use ‘Google’ for your own searches. We hope it helps. Let us know how you get on. If you need anything, please get in touch.

Contents

▪          Devices

▪          Connectivity / Data

▪          Training

▪          Support

▪          Information

▪          Funding

▪          Contact

*This is not a comprehensive list – please help us build this list and so tell us what we’ve missed*

Devices

  1. Devices (donated)

▪          Power to Connect (Wandsworth) https://www.powertoconnect.co.uk/

▪          Keep Kids Connected (Wandsworth) (Part of Dons Local Action Group) https://www.keepkidsconnected.co.uk/

▪          Schools are getting support from central government to buy equipment for pupils. http://s4s.wandsworth.gov.uk/Article/82503 (Wandsworth)

▪          IT for Charities https://itforcharities.co.uk/it-services/recycled-pcs/

▪          Computers for Charities https://www.computersforcharities.org/lowcost

▪          Computer Aid https://www.computeraid.org/get-computers

▪          Clear Community Web (Lambeth, Southwark, Croydon only) https://clearcommunityweb.co.uk/

▪          You could buy your own devices to distribute within the local community with support from charitable trusts and individual donors etc. (see below for a list of possible funders)

 

  1. Software

▪          Charity Digital https://charitydigital.org.uk/ help other charities #BeMoreDigital through inspiring content, access to the UK's only discounted and donated technology platform, and connection to the best digital talent in the sector. They have loads of amazing offers, training, support and more!

▪          Wikipedia – list of free and open-source software https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_free_and_open-source_software_organizations

▪          Microsoft Office 365 (free for non-profits) https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/nonprofits/microsoft-365

▪          Remote access software – SplashTop https://www.splashtop.com/

▪          Stream video content across multiple social media platforms – Stream Yard https://streamyard.com

Connectivity / Data

  1. Connectivity / Data / Broadband

▪          Money Saving Expert – best deals https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/

▪          Community Fibre https://www.wandsworth.gov.uk/news/news-january-2021/ultrafast-broadband-available-to-thousands-of-wandsworth-homes/ and https://www.communityfibre.co.uk/

 

  1. Connectivity Hardware / Wi-Fi

▪          GetBox which provides low-cost, secure and rapidly deployable Wi-Fi to disconnected communities. This is at an initial cost of £225 plus £15-20 a month for Data. With the use of smaller transition radios this can give free Wi-Fi to 30 families. Richard Thaki is their Director. https://www.janga.la/ 

▪          Hyperoptic will be installing free Wi-Fi in the communal areas of council estates in RBKC. something to consider in for Wandsworth https://www.hyperoptic.com/ 

Training

  1. Digital Training for Organisations (join their mailing lists for regular updates)

▪          Charity Digital https://charitydigital.org.uk/ (loads of free resources and training)

▪          Small Charities Coalition https://www.smallcharities.org.uk/

▪          The FSI https://www.thefsi.org/

▪          Media Trust https://mediatrust.org/

▪          We Are Digital https://www.we-are-digital.co.uk/

▪          Digital Inclusion Evaluation Toolkit https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/digital-inclusion-evaluation-toolkit

 

  1. Digital Training for Residents (Wandsworth)

▪          South Thames College https://stcg.ac.uk/south-thames-college

▪          Wandsworth Council Lifelong Learning https://www.wandsworthlifelonglearning.org.uk/

▪          There are lots of online courses available too (google it)

 

  1. Safety online

▪          NSPCC https://www.nspcc.org.uk/keeping-children-safe/online-safety/

▪          Think U Know https://www.thinkuknow.co.uk/ (aimed at children of different age groups)

▪          UK Council for Internet Safety https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/uk-council-for-internet-safety

Support

  1. Support for charities and community organisations

▪          Charity Digital https://charitydigital.org.uk/

▪          CAST https://www.wearecast.org.uk/

▪          AbilityNet https://www.abilitynet.org.uk/

▪          Google for non-profits https://www.google.com/nonprofits/

 

  1. Volunteers offering tech support

▪          CITA (IT volunteers) https://www.cita.org.uk/

▪          Media Trust https://mediatrust.org/

▪          Donate Code (designer & developer volunteer network) https://www.donatecode.com/about/ 

▪          Founders & Coders https://www.foundersandcoders.com/

 

  1. Volunteers offering support specific to Covid-19

▪          Digital Boost https://www.digitalboost.org.uk/

▪          Covid Tech Support https://covidtechsupport.com/find-tech-talent/

▪          Digital Candle https://www.digitalcandle.org.uk/

 

  1. Support for Individuals during Covid-19

▪          Citizens Online https://www.citizensonline.org.uk/coronavirus-support-resources/

Information

  1. Information platforms

▪          Croydon/Leeds Digital Inclusion Toolkit https://digitalinclusionkit.org/

▪          Tech for Good CAST https://github.com/TechforgoodCAST/awesome-techforgood

▪          Digital Maturity Frameworks overview (amazing list of 57 digital tools) https://airtable.com/shrPu7tPawOcuX89g/tblO1WdDpeHRF3jdW

▪          NCVO – Digital and Technology (various) https://beta.ncvo.org.uk/digital-technology/

 

  1. Reports on various digital inclusion issues

i. Statistics

▪          Office of National Statistics ONS - exploring the digital divide

▪          Office of National Statistics ONS survey of internet users

▪          The Great British of Geography of Internet Use and Engagement

▪          Internet Users map 

▪          OfCom Ofcom adult media use report

▪          Lloyds Lloyd's consumer digital index

▪          Tech Partnership Tech Partnership's heat map

▪          Good Things Foundation Digital Nation 2019 - Good Things Foundation infographic

▪          Good Things Foundation Digital Nation 2020 - Good Things Foundation infographic

▪          Good Things Foundation Good Things Foundation digital inclusion report during coronavirus

▪          Good Things Foundation Good Things Foundation Blueprint for a 100% Digitally Included UK

ii. Government – Central

▪          Essential Skills Framework https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/essential-digital-skills-framework

▪          Government Digital Inclusion Strategy (2014) https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/government-digital-inclusion-strategy/government-digital-inclusion-strategy

▪          NHS Digital https://digital.nhs.uk/about-nhs-digital/our-work/digital-inclusion

iii. Government – Local

▪          Leeds (100% Digital) https://democracy.leeds.gov.uk/documents/s199910/Recommendation%20tracking%20Digital%20Inclusion%20February%202020%20v4.pdf AND https://democracy.leeds.gov.uk/mgConvert2PDF.aspx?ID=208130

▪          Croydon/Leeds Digital Inclusion Toolkit https://digitalinclusionkit.org/

▪          Digital Inclusion Salford https://digitalinclusion.salford.gov.uk/

▪          Data Wand https://www.datawand.info/ (info/data related to all things Wandsworth)

▪          London Datastore https://data.london.gov.uk/

iv. Reports

▪          The Good Things Foundation https://www.goodthingsfoundation.org/ (lots of resources)

▪          Carnegie UK Trust Challenging perceptions of the Digital Native Generation 

▪          Cumberland Lodge https://www.cumberlandlodge.ac.uk/read-watch-listen/digital-inclusion-bridging-divides-cumberland-lodge-report

▪          Nesta https://www.nesta.org.uk/feature/decentralised-futures/

▪          LGA / ADASS https://ipc.brookes.ac.uk/publications/Transforming%20social%20care%20through%20the%20use%20of%20information%20and%20technology%20November%202016.pdf

▪          Age UK Digital Inclusion Evidence Review 2018 https://www.ageuk.org.uk/globalassets/age-uk/documents/reports-and-publications/age_uk_digital_inclusion_evidence_review_2018.pdf

▪          Digital Inclusion for leaders in Higher Education https://www.jisc.ac.uk/guides/digital-inclusion

▪          Digital Inclusion in Mental Health https://amhp.org.uk/digital-inclusion-guide/

 

  1. Weekly/Regular updates and comms

For weekly newsletters and updates sign up to these:

▪          Charity Digital https://charitydigital.org.uk/ (incl. Charity Digital News)

▪          Catalyst https://www.thecatalyst.org.uk/

▪          Civil Society https://www.civilsociety.co.uk/

Funding

  1. Funding Databases

▪          Charity Excellence - database to find relevant funds https://www.charityexcellence.co.uk/

▪          Wandsworth Voluntary Sector Coordination Service https://wandsworthcarealliance.org.uk/support-for-organisations/resources/funding/

▪          There’s always google!

 

  1. Funds available for Digital work specifically (thanks to Charity Excellence Framework)

▪          Bethnall Green Ventures – funding accelerator twice a year that gives out monetary support, mainly to start-ups, using tech to drive social and environmental change.

▪          Clothworkers Foundation – will fund IT, including digital/audio visual equipment.

▪          DCMS – occasional tech for good grants and support for charities.

▪          Eddie and Vanessa George Memorial Fund – grants for IT training for people in Cornwall.

▪          Family Fund – computers and tablets for disabled people and their families. 

▪          Fat Beehive Foundation – grants relating to the use of Information Technology

▪          Germinate – computers for rural people. 

▪          Misys Charitable Foundation – public education in communications and IT, and their application in commerce.

▪          National Lottery Digital Fund – using digital tools and approaches to support people and communities to thrive.

▪          Nesta – large-scale innovation for challenges such as healthcare, public services and infrastructure.

▪          Social Tech Trust – previously Nominate, transforming lives with technology.

▪          Thomas Wall Trust – up £5,000 towards specific projects or core activities that support literacy, numeracy, digital and additional skills for learning likely to assist employment prospects.  Registered charities, with income under £0.5m pa.

▪          WCIT – pro bono support and grants.

Please keep your eyes open for funding opportunities for Wandsworth Digital and let us know. Thanks.

  1. Funders – Wandsworth funders for charities & community groups (who might fund digital work)

▪          Battersea Power Station Foundation http://bpsfoundation.org.uk/

▪          Battersea United Charities http://www.batterseaunitedcharities.org.uk/home.html

▪          Big Local SW11 http://biglocalsw11.co.uk

▪          Enable Wandsworth – sports, health and wellbeing funding https://enablelc.org/els

▪          Greater London Authority (GLA) – various funds https://www.london.gov.uk/what-we-do/funding

▪          London Community Foundation – approx. 13 different funds available to apply for Wandsworth throughout the year: https://londoncf.org.uk/ (search for Wandsworth)

▪          L&Q Foundation – Place Makers Fund https://www.lqgroup.org.uk/landq-foundation

▪          National Lottery Community Fund – various funds https://www.tnlcommunityfund.org.uk/

▪          Roehampton Parish Trust https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regid=1165257&subid=0

▪          Sir Walter St John’s Educational Charity http://swsjcharity.org.uk/

▪          Thrale Almshouse & Relief in Need charity – small grants programme (Tooting, Balham and more) http://www.thralealmshouses.org.uk/

▪          Wandsworth CCG (Clinical Commissioning Group) Community Grant Scheme https://www.wandsworthccg.nhs.uk/getinvolved/Pages/NHS%20Wandsworth%20Community%20Grants.aspx

▪          Wandsworth Council – various funds incl. Grant Fund, Local Fund, Youth Opportunity Fund: https://www.wandsworth.gov.uk/leisure-and-culture/volunteering/grants-for-the-community-and-voluntary-sector/available-grants-for-the-community-and-voluntary-sector/

▪          Wandsworth Oasis (AIDS/HIV funding) https://www.wandsworthoasis.org.uk/our-grants

▪          Western Riverside Environmental Fund http://www.wref.org.uk/index.htm

▪          Wimbledon Foundation Community Fund http://www.wimbledon.com/en_GB/wimbledonfoundation/wimbledon_foundation_community_fund.html

 

Contact

  1. Contact

To help us update this list please contact:

 

Aaron Barbour

aaron@klsettlement.org.uk

020 7223 2845